Dad at 13?

13 02 2009

At first, I thought this was a fake story like ones featured on The Onion. Alfie Patten becomes a father at the age of 13…. I didn’t know this was biologically possible, but I guess more and more the age for puberty is getting younger.  But after my initial shock, I wondered how one helps these two new parents. How can their community take steps to support them? Or even, will they? I guess the first thing is to understand what the new parents are going through, without diminishing the gravity of the situation. Alfie’s father describes his son’s fear of the events that have occurred:

“When I spoke to him he started crying. He said it was the first time he’d had sex, that he didn’t know what he was doing and of the complications that could come.”

Actions

Information

One response

14 02 2009
DK

I was a bit skeptical too after seeing the source you provided. But apparently other news sources have picked it as well:
http://uk.news.yahoo.com/5/20090213/tuk-alfie-13-i-ll-be-a-good-dad-45dbed5.html

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/uk/article5724616.ece

Leave a Reply

