Why Blog?

17 08 2008

           I asked around to see if it was a good idea to start a blog of my own. There were split opinions. Some were enthusiastic and encouraged me to start, some said it was pointless and a waste of time, and some even had both negative and positive views with valid reasoning (He said it was a seemingly self-absorbed but that it also provides a means to share one’s experiences/thoughts with others). Ultimately, I decided to start a blog after I heard Marty Moss-Coane interview Dr. Pete Enns on NPR’s Radiotimes (http://www.whyy.org/rameta/RT/2008/RT20080813_20_2.ram). I was reminded through this interview, the value of asking questions. You see, the natural orientation of my mind is that of criticism (I’d like to say for the most part constructive criticism but sometimes pointless criticism regrettably leaks through my filters). Negatively put, my friends have called me a pessimist, positiviely put, my friends have kindly described me as prophetic. It has always been my disposition, even early on in my life, to ask questions, to ask why things are the way they are and for what purpose. Of the what, when, where, why, and how questions, my favorite is the “Why” with “How” as a close second. I remember once being angered in Dr. Oliphint’s Doctrine of God class when he made the statement, “There are questions that you should not ask.” Eventually, I understood that Dr. Oliphint was trying to make a point, in a provacative manner, that the motivation for asking a question matters. This is true but, though not necessarily the other side of the same coin, I think we don’t ask questions that stretch us, in fear that it is not the right question to ask. And this is what I have been reminded of, to ask anyway. The answer may be “That’s the wrong question.” But if so, you acknowledge, learn and ask another. My former teachers, Peter Enns, Steve Taylor, and EP Sanders best taught me this principle: to not be afraid to ask the wrong questions. This blog is too meager of a thing to dedicate to these great thinkers but I start this blog to continue what they have taught me. To ask questions that stretch our comfort zone. To be honest with oneself in that I don’t know everything. To be humble enough to learn through the asking and not merely through answers. So I end this entry as the beginning of this blog with the last paragraph of the Preface from Dr. Enns book:

“I believe with all my heart that honesty with oneself is a central component to spiritual growth. God honors our honest questions. He is not surprised by them, nor is he ashamed to be our God when we pose them. He is our God, not because of the questions we ask (or refrain from asking), but because he has united us to the risen Christ. And being a part of God’s family is ultimately a gift to us, not something to be obtained by us. God has freed us in Christ and made us his children. And, as all children do, we ask a lot of questions.”


Actions

Information

4 responses

17 08 2008
joe kim

wow…you have a blog!!!
i remember when Oliphant said that. it didn’t quite sit well with me either. questions are good. its how we learn how to “think God’s thoughts after Him”, even if all of the answers we get are merely provisional at best. Personally, i’m hoping that when our time is done, we all can honestly stand before God and say along with Ed Young, “I have not shirked the difficult questions”.

17 08 2008
tonEX

YES! Paul Park’s mental meanderings! Now I can read your pessimistic thoughts anytime I want!:mrgreen:

18 08 2008
donaldkim

Nice.

21 08 2008
Christina Meyer

I just watched “P.S. I Love You” last night. Here’s a great quote in response to you deciding to blog:

“All I know is, if you don’t figure out this something, you’ll just stay ordinary, and it doesn’t matter if its a work of art or a taco, or a pair of socks! Just create something… new, and there it is, and its you, out in the world, out side of you and you can look at it, or hear it, or read it, or feel it… and you know a little more about… you. A little bit more than anyone else does… Does that make any sense at all?”

Leave a Reply

